Terrorism Update
Show/Hide Search
    Click to Enlarge

SAIR Archive        Detail Of Terrorism Update        LATEST ON SATP


India      Five Maoists arrested in separate incidents in Bihar
India      Four NSCN-R militants arrested in Nagaland
India      Three BDFM militants arrested in Mizoram
India      Two militants arrested in Manipur
India      Terror suspect arrested from Jalandhar in Punjab
India      NDFB-IKS linkman arrested in Assam
Nepal      Madhesi lawmakers boycott Parliament meeting
India      PLFI calls for State wide bandh in Jharkhand
India      NIA court issues non-bailable warrant against Zakir Naik
India      India requests US for extradition of 26/11 Mumbai attacks accused David Headley
India      Central Government to review peace pact with two militant groups of Meghalaya, says Home Ministry senior official
India      Establishment of 'communist society' in Manipur is our 'ultimate goal', says MCPM founder leader Chiranglen Sapamcha
Pakistan      Big companies set to continue paying the 'Super Tax' to fund war against terror
Sri Lanka      Ready to abolish or prune down powers of Executive Presidency, says President Maithripala Sirisena
Sri Lanka      TULF General Secretary urges President to take immediate measures to release all private lands in North and East
Nepal      TRC member urges Secretariat to call immediate meeting

Madhesi lawmakers boycott Parliament meeting

Madhesi lawmakers on April 20 boycotted the Parliament meeting, reports The Himalayan Times. The lawmakers left the House soon after a lawmaker Akbal Amshad Sah spoke at the outset of the meeting that the Government did not address their demands. Similarly, lawmakers, speaking in the zero hour session of the Parliament urged to resolve the burning issues. They further urged to resolve political issues in view of local polls, slated for May 14.

Earlier, five major political parties in Parliament including Nepali Congress (NC), Committee of Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML), Chairman of Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist Centre (CPN-Maoist Centre), Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Madhesi People’s Rights Forum-Democratic (MPRF-D) during a meeting held at Baluwatar in Kathmandu on April 19 have  reiterated their commitment to holding the local polls on the stipulated date, reports Republica.

Meanwhile, six constituents of the United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) on April 20 formed a unified party called Rastriya Janata Party (RJP), reports The Himalayan Times. Among the UDMF constituents that untied are Mahantha Thakur-led Tarai Madhes Democratic Party (TMDP), Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhawana Party (SP), Mahendra Ray Yadav-led Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party-Nepal (TMSP-N),  Sharat Singh Bhandari-led National Madhes Socialist Party (NMSP), Rajkishor Yadav-led Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Republican (MJF-R) and Anil Kumar Jha-led Nepal Sadbhawana Party (NSP). The only constituent of the UDMF that did not become a part of the RJP is Upendra Yadav-led Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal (FSF-N), which has been trying to unify with Baburam Bhattarai-led Naya Shakti Party-Nepal.






Copyright © 2001 SATP. All rights reserved.