Terrorism Update
Show/Hide Search
    Click to Enlarge

Prominent attacks on political leaders and activists during Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly Elections, September 1996

Listed below are some of the prominent attacks on political leaders and activists during the September 1996 Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly elections.

  • September 6/7, 1996: Terrorists fire at the house of Mohammed Maqbool Dar, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Candidate for the Rafiabad Assembly constituency. No casualties are reported in the attack.
  • September 7, 1996: Terrorists lob a grenade at the house of Javed Ahmed Shah, a leader of the National Conference (NC), who had defected from the Awami League (AL). There are no casualties reported in the incident. Shah, initially filed his nomination papers on an Awami League ticket for the Rafiabad Assembly constituency, but withdrew subsequently.
  • September 8, 1996: The convoy of Mehbooba Mufti, daughter of former Union Home Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, contesting as an Indian National Congress (INC) candidate from Bijbehera Constituency is attacked.
  • September 8, 1996: Terrorists fire upon vehicle of Mohammad Jabar Mir, NC candidate from Wachi constituency.
  • September 11, 1996: Terrorists hurl grenade at residence of Nasir Ahmad Garkhoo, Janata Dal (JD) candidate from Khanyar constituency.
  • September 11/12, 1996: Terrorists fire at the house of INC activist Ghulam Lone, a surrendered terrorist, injuring one person.
  • September 12, 1996: A grenade attack occurs at election rally of State Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah in Pulwama district, injuring four security force (SF) personnel and a civilian.
  • September 12, 1996: Terrorists lob grenade at the vehicle of A.G. Veeri, NC candidate from Bijbehera Constituency. A civilian is injured during the attack.
  • September 13, 1996: Terrorists hurl a grenade and subsequently open fire at vehicles of two Janata Dal leaders, including Ishfaq Ahmed Mirza, a contestant from the Habbakadal constituency.
  • September 14, 1996: Ghulam Hassan Mukim, Janata Dal candidate from Charar-e-Sharief constituency, escapes unhurt, in an attack on his convoy.
  • September 15, 1996: Unidentified assailants attack a public meeting being addressed by O. M. Bakshi, AL candidate from the Khansahib constituency.
  • September 16, 1996: Ali Mohd Dar, INC candidate from Tral Assembly constituency escapes unhurt in an attack on his vehicle.
  • September 16, 1996: Unidentified terrorists attack an election campaign team of Independent candidate Ghulam Mohamed Saroori, contesting from Inderwal Assembly constituency, injuring one of his supporters.
  • September 16, 1996: Terrorists lob a grenade at the residence of Ghulam Masram Gillani, NC candidate contesting from Budgam constituency. No loss of life or injuries are reported.
  • September 16, 1996: Terrorists hurl a petrol bomb at the residence of Mohammed Syed Akhoon, NC candidate from Hazratbal constituency.
  • September 18, 1996: NC activists attacked while on their way to Bagna from Doda. Two persons, including a SF personnel, injured.
  • September 18, 1996: Terrorists lob grenade at the house of Mohammed Ramzan Chowdry, NC candidate from Handwara constituency.
  • September 19, 1996: Unidentified terrorists hurl a hand grenade in the vicinity of the house of Ramzan Chowdory. The grenade fails to explode and is later defused by SFs.
  • September 21, 1996: Terrorists lob a grenade at the house of former Member of the Legislative Assembly, Mohammed Sultan Bhat.
  • September 21, 1996: During polling day, terrorists attack a polling booth at a Government. Girls Higher Secondary School, damaging two SF vehicles.
  • September 21, 1996: Terrorists launch grenade attack on the house of Mohammed Shafi Bhat, National Conference candidate from Amirabadal Assembly constituency.
  • September 22, 1996: Terrorists set ablaze the house of Habib-ur-Rehman, BJP candidate from Shangas constituency, causing some damage to the house.
  • September 22/23, 1996: The residence of Mirza Muzaffer Beg, INC candidate from Doda constituency is set ablaze by unidentified terrorists.
  • September 23, 1996: A powerful bomb explosion occurs at an election rally being addressed by State Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah. Two persons are killed while 20 more sustain injuries.
  • September 23, 1996: In the vicinity of an election meeting being addressed by BJP candidate D.K. Ketwal, terrorists open fire. There are no casualties or injuries reported
  • September 22/23, 1996 : A grenade attack occurs on the house of Mohammed Shafi Shat, ex-National Conference Member of Parliament and a candidate from the Amirabad Assembly constituency.
  • September 24, 1996: The father-in-law of Mohammed Yusuf Tarigami, Jammu and Kashmir State Secretary of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM), and a candidate from Kulgam constituency, is shot dead by unidentified terrorists. His 13 year-old son sustains injuries in the attack.
  • September 25, 1996: A third grenade attack takes place on the house of Ramjan Chaudhry.
  • September 28, 1996: Terrorists launch a grenade attack on the house of Nazir Ahmed Ganaj, the Janata Dal candidate from Anantnag Assembly consitutency.
  • September 29, 1996: Terrorists hurled a grenade at the residence of Sadiq Ali, NC candidate from Zadibal Assembly constituency. A security force personnel on duty at his house is injured during this attack





Copyright © 2001 SATP. All rights reserved.