Terrorism Update
Show/Hide Search
    Click to Enlarge

CPI-Maoist Central-level leaders killed/died, arrested, surrendered during 2007 to 2018
(Updated till June 3, 2018)


Rammana aka Shrinivas Vitthalanna Madru aka Ravi aka Suresh (65) was arrested from Ballarshah town of Chandrapur District of Maharashtra on February 9. Rammana headed the technical department of the CPI-Maoist in Chhattisgarh.


1. B Narayan Sanyal aka Naveen Prasad aka Bijoy Da. He was the second most important leader after the party's national secretary, Muppalla Lakshmana Rao. He passed away in a south Kolkata hospital on April 17, 2017. He was in his early 80s and was suffering from cancer.

2. Kobad Ghandy, 'Politburo member', was reportedly re-arrested by the Jharkhand SIB Police from Achampet town in Nagarkurnool District of Telangana on December 16, 2017.

3. Jinugu Narasimha Reddy aka Jampanna aka JP (57), Secretary of NTSZC, and CRBM Surrendered on December 22, 2017


1. Kuppu Dev Raj aka Kuppu Swamy aka Ramesh aka Rayanna aka Yogesh aka Balaji (65), SWRBM, i/c Tamil Nadu & Kerala, SOCs & he is playing key role in entire party production department. He was killed in an encounter in Nilambur forest in Malappuram District on November 24, 2016.


1. K. Muralidharan aka Thomas Joseph aka Ajith: Inducted into CC after the merger of CPI-ML (Naxalbari) into CPI-Maoist, Murali was arrested on May 8, 2015 from from a hospital at Talegaon Dabhade near Pune in Maharashtra.


1. Sushil Roy (78), a politburo member and founding member of the CPI-Maoist. He died at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in New Delhi on June 18, 2014, following prolonged illness, the Revolutionary Democratic Front (RDF) said in a statement. In line with his final wish, his body was donated to the AIIMS for medical research.


1. Anukul Chandra Naskar alias Goer Chandra Naskar alias Pareshji: A Cental Committee member, arrested in Cachar district of Assam on May 8, 2013.


1. Sadanala Ramakrishna alias RK: Stated to be the head of the Central Technical Committee of the CPI-Maoist was arrested in Kolkata, West Bengal, on February 29, 2012.

2. Mohan Vishwakarma: A senior member of the Central Technical Committee and Technical Research and Arms Manufacturing (TRAM) unit was picked up from Watgunj in south Kolkata, West Bengal, on July 26, 2012.


1. Mallojula Koteswara Rao alias Kishanji: Kishanji, a Politburo member, was killed in an encounter in Burisole forest in West Midnapore District on November 24, 2011.

2. Jagdish Yadav alias Jagdish Master: A Politburo member, Jagdish was arrested after a joint team of Special Task Force of Bihar police, District Armed Police and CRPF surrounded a private clinic at Guraru Bazaar in Gaya District of Bihar on June 12, 2011.

3-5. Varanasi Subramanyam, Pulendu Mukherjee and Vijay Kumar Arya:  These three Central Committee (CC) members were arrested together from a village in Ganesh Tola under Barsoi Police Station in Katihar District of Bihar on April 29, 2011.


1. Cherukuri Rajkumar alias Azad: Andhra Pradesh Police shot dead Azad, a Politburo member, in a gun battle in one of his hideouts at Jogapur jungles in the Adilabad District of Andhra Pradesh on July 2, 2010. 

2. Baccha Prasad Singh: A Politburo member, Singh was arrested in a top-secret operation on February 8, 2010 in Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. Seven other Maoists, including top leader Banshidhar alias Chintan Da were arrested along with him.

3. J. Narsimha Reddy alias Jampanna: Jampanna, a CC member, was arrested from a hideout in Kadrukhuta jungle of Upperghat area under Nawadih police station in Bokaro District of Jharkhand on August 8, 2010.


1. Kobad Gandhi, a Politburo member, was arrested by the Special Cell of the Delhi Police from Delhi on September 20, 2009.

2. Amitabha Bagchi alias Anil, a Politburo member, was arrested from Ranchi in Jharkhand on August 24, 2009 on the basis of a tip-off.


1. Pramod Misra alias Madanji, a Politburo member, was arrested on May 11, 2008, from a rented house at Barmasia in Dhanbad District of Jharkhand. His arrest was possible when Police realized that one of those arrested some days ago was Mishra's son and grilled him.


1. Misir Besra alias Sunirmal (50), a Politburo member, was arrested on September 21, 2007 from Rania Bazar (Khunti) in Jharkhand. However, Besra was rescued by Maoists in an operation on June 23, 2009 from Bihar].

2. Malla Raji Reddy alias Sattenna, a CC member, was arrested from Angamaly town in Ernakulam District of Kerala on December 17, 2007. However, he has jumped bail and again joined the Maoist ranks.

3. Krishnan Srinivasan alias Sridhar Srinivasan alias Vishnu alias Vijay alias Sreedhar alias Shekar, a CC member, was arrested from Mumbai on August 19, 2007. Released in August 2013 after serving six-year jail term. Died of heart attack on August 18, 2015.

4. Sande Rajamouli, a CC member, was shot dead by Andhra Pradesh Police on June 22, 2007 during an exchange of fire that took place near the Dharmavaram railway station in Anantapur District of Andhra Pradesh.






Copyright © 2001 SATP. All rights reserved.